Disabled Veterans’ Property
Tax Exemption

California law provides a property tax
exemption for the primary residence of a
disabled veteran or an unmarried spouse of a
qualifying deceased disabled veteran.

Who may qualify?

e US military veterans rated 100% disabled
or 100% unemployable due to service
connected injury or disease.

e Unmarried surviving spouses of a
deceased veteran qualified for this
exemption or whose death was service-
connected.

e Unmarried surviving spouses of a
qualifying veteran who died on active duty
due to a service-connected injury or
disease.

https://assessor.saccounty.gov

Two Exemption Levels

e Basic exemption regardless of your total
annual income (one time filing)

e Low-income exemption based on your
total household income (requires annual
filing each year by February 15)

On the chart below, the basic exemption
amount for 2025 is $175,298, at a tax rate of
1.2% that is a savings of over $2,104 a year.

However, the amount of the exemption may
never exceed the assessed value of the
claimant's residence.

Exemption Income

Basic Low- —

Income

2025  $175298  $262,950  $78,718
2024  $169,769  $254,656  $76,235
2023 $161,083  $241,627  $72,335
2022 $149,993  $224,991  $67,355
2021 $147,535  $221304  $66,251
2020  $143273  $214910  $64,337
2019  $139,437  $209,156  $62,614
2018  $134,706  $202,060  $60,490
2017 $130,841  $196262  $58,754

2016  $127,510 $191,266 $57,258

https://assessor.saccounty.gov

To apply for this exemption you need to
submit:

1. A completed Claim for Disabled Veterans'
Property Tax Exemption - BOE-261-G form
2. A complete copy of the Veteran's Rating

Decision Letter from the Dept. of Veterans'
Affairs with the effective date

3. A copy of the veteran’s DD-214 showing
discharged in other than dishonorable
conditions

4. A completed 2024 Disabled Veterans Low-
Income  Worksheet (for low-income
applicants only)

Forms and worksheets are located on our
website at https://assessor.saccounty.gov.

In addition to the items above, surviving
spouses also must include:

5. A copy of the Marriage Certificate
A copy of the Death Certificate or Report of
Casualty ( if the veteran died in active
service)

NOTE: Surviving spouses may send their
Dependency and Indemnity Compensation
(DIC) Letter with an effective date instead of
the Veterans' Rating Decision Letter.

If you do not have copies of your ratings letter
or discharge, please contact the US Dept of
Veteran's Affairs at 1-800-827-1000.

https://assessor.saccounty.gov
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Please mail the completed claim form and
supporting documents to the address on the
claim form.

When to file for this exemption

e A qualified applicant must file by the end of
the calendar year for the tax year in which
they intend to seek relief.

For example, an applicant who receives
their VA rating letter in April 2024 must file
an exemption claim by December 31, 2024
in order to be considered timely.

e To receive the full exemption on a
supplemental bill (if any), the claim is
timely if it is filed within 30 days of the
Notice of Supplemental Assessment.

e Claims received after these dates are still
eligible for exemption, but at a reduced
exemption amount for the initial filing.

e Low-income exemptions require an annual
claim filing by February 15 each year (the
basic exemption is a one-time filing; no
annual claims are required after the initial
filing).

Retroactive Filings

California law allows for retroactive filings, in
some cases, up to a total of eight years.
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Rating Letters

VA rating percentages change over time. |If
your condition changes, you may need to be
reevaluated by the VA.

If you were previously denied for this
exemption and your rating has changed, you
need to reapply with your revised rating letter.

If you have any questions, please call our
Exemptions Section at (916) 875-0720 (8am to
4pm) or email us at:
ASR-DisabledVetExemptions@saccounty.gov

Sacramento County's Veterans Service Office
offers assistance with many programs and
benefits. Their website is:
https://ha.saccounty.gov/benefits/VeteransSer
vices/Pages/VeteranHome.aspx
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OFFICE OF THE

ASSESSOR

SACRAMENTO COUNTY

Christina Wynn, Assessor

3636 AMERICAN RIVER DRIVE, SUITE 200
SACRAMENTO, CA 95864-5952

Office Hours
8 a.m.to 5 p.m.
Monday to Friday
(Excluding Holidays)

Telephone
(916) 875-0700
8a.m.to 4 p.m.

Assistance for the hearing impaired is available by
calling 711 for California Relay Service

E-mail: assessor@saccounty.gov
OUR MISSION

We provide equitable, timely, and accurate
property tax assessments and information.

OUR VALUES
Professionalism
Integrity
Efficiency
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