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AdministrationSacramento County 3636 American River Drive, Suite 200 

Office of the Assessor Sacramento, CA 95864-5952 
Christina Wynn, Assessor https://assessor.saccounty.gov 

(916) 875-0760 Jarret Stedifor, Assistant Assessor 

Parcel Number: 

New Construction Reassessment Exclusion for 
Governor-Declared Disaster Damage 

(RTC Section 70.5) (See the Instructions on reverse side or page 2) 

1) Address of the damaged property: 

2) Type of Property Damaged: 

Residential Commercial Agricultural Industrial 

Describe: 

3) Date of disaster: Cause of disaster:  

4) Describe the physical damage: 

5) Building inspection or fire department you called: 

Date: 

6) Were you the owner of the property at the time of disaster? Yes No 

7) Was the damage caused by you or an employee of yours? Yes No 

8) Your opinion of the value of the property immediately before the damage: $ 

9) Your estimate of the amount of damage: $ 

10) Attach a copy of the insurance company estimate to this form, if available. 

Name of insurance company: 

Name of adjuster/agent: Phone: 

11) Will the damaged property be reconstructed or repaired? Yes No 

If yes, will it located on the same site? Yes No 

I hereby certify that all of the statements above are true and correct, to the best of my knowledge. 

Your name (please print): Daytime phone:    

Mailing address: 

E-mail address: 

Signature: _____________________________________ Date: _______________________ 

If signed outside the State of California, the application must be verified by affidavit. 

Please make a copy for your records. 
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INSTRUCTIONS 
NEW CONSTRUCTION REASSESSMENT EXCLUSION FOR GOVERNOR-

DECLARED DISASTER DAMAGE 

You may qualify for a reduction or refund of property taxes if property you own was 
substantially damaged or destroyed in a Governor-Declared Disaster. 

To qualify for a possible exclusion from reassessment of new construction, all of the 
following requirements must be met: 

 The disaster must be one for which the Governor proclaimed a state of emergency. 

 The disaster must have occurred on or after January 1, 2017. 

 Only the owner(s) of substantially damaged or destroyed property is eligible for relief. 

 The total value of the damage to the real property must exceed 50% of the 
improvement's full cash value immediately prior to the disaster in value. You can 
attach an insurance company estimate as evidence for your claim. 

 The replacement improvement must be located on the same site. 

 The replacement improvement reconstruction must be completed within 5 years after 
the disaster. 

 The replacement improvement must be comparable to the original damaged or 
destroyed property. The reconstructed property shall be considered comparable to 
the original property if it is similar in size, utility, and function. 

 The application is signed under the penalty of perjury. If you sign it outside the State 
of California, the application must be verified by affidavit. 

If you meet all of the above requirements, the following steps will be taken to determine the 

reconstructed property’s new taxable value: 

If the full cash value of the reconstructed property does not exceed 120 percent of the full 
cash value of the property substantially damaged or destroyed, then the adjusted base year 
value of the property substantially damaged or destroyed shall apply to the reconstructed 
property as its base year value. 

If the full cash value of the reconstructed property exceeds 120 percent of the full cash value 
of the property substantially damaged or destroyed, then the amount of the full cash value 
over 120 percent of the full cash value of the property substantially damaged or destroyed 
shall be added to the adjusted base year value of the original property substantially damaged 
or destroyed. The sum of these amounts shall become the reconstructed property’s base 
year value. 

If you do not meet these requirements, do not file an application. 

Note: A property owner who receives relief under RTC Section 70.5 is not eligible to transfer 
the base year value under RTC Section 69. 

For additional information, please see the Assessor’s website:https://assessor.saccounty.gov. 

If you have any questions, please contact our Real Property Division at (916) 875-0700.  
Telephone hours are 8 A.M. to 4 P.M., Monday through Friday. You may also visit our office 
at the address listed in the upper right corner of this letter. Our office hours are from 8 A.M. 
to 5 P.M. 
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